County Patrol

Supplementing the primary policing of the RCMP are enhanced services provided by the County Patrol Division's Patrol Officers. Both organizations work collaboratively to ensure the safety and security of ratepayers.

Mountain View County Patrol Officers are appointed as Community Peace Officers by the Alberta Solicitor General. County Patrol is mandated to investigate and enforce Provincial laws like the Traffic Safety Act and associated regulations like the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Control Act and the Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act. As well, the enforcement of Mountain View County Bylaws is the responsibility of the Patrol Division, along with County Bylaw Enforcement, according to the Municipal Government Act.

The County's Patrol Division and Bylaw Enforcement work collaboratively with many other enforcement agencies including the RCMP, the Canadian Pacific Railway Police, Inspection Services of Alberta Transportation, Alberta Fish and Wildlife and other municipal enforcement agencies.

  • Questions or comments regarding County Patrol? Contact the Director of Legislative Services at 403-335-3311 or email